NAPABA 2018-2019 Elections: Cast your vote by Oct. 9

The National Asian Pacific American Bar Association (NAPABA) is holding its 2018-2019 Board of Governors election. The NAPABA Board of Governors makes the organization’s policies for the given year, and consists of nine officers, ten regional governors, and four appointed At-Large Board Members. The responsibilities of board members include, but are not limited to, supporting NAPABA’s mission statement, endorsing NAPABA events and programs, securing financial supporters, and demonstrating the highest standards of integrity and decorum. For a full list of governor responsibilities, click here. With these responsibilities in mind, AABANY endorses the following candidates (whose statements, biographies, and endorsements can be found by clicking their name): 

Bonnie Lee Wolf, President-Elect 
Alen Hsu, Vice President for Membership

Charles Jung, Vice President for Programs and Operations

Avanti Bakane, Vice President for Communications

Gary Zhao, Treasurer

Jeffrey Javinar, Secretary 

AABANY members who joined or renewed their NAPABA membership by July 1, 2018, are eligible to vote. Ballots have been delivered by email, and must be cast on or before Tuesday, Oct. 9, 2018. If you have any questions, you may contact the NAPABA Nominating & Elections Committee Chair George Chen, [email protected], or NAPABA Executive Director Tina Matsuoka, [email protected]. For general inquiries, please contact [email protected]

More information on elections can be found here, and the elections schedule has been reproduced below: 

Oct. 9 | Votes must be cast by 9 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. PDT on this date in order to be counted. Questions or concerns about voting and elections may be directed to [email protected].*

*Staff will be available to assist you throughout the voting period until 5 p.m. EDT/2 p.m. PDT on Oct. 9, 2018, which is several hours before the voting period closes. If you have questions or anticipate a need for assistance, please plan accordingly and contact us in advance of the deadline. No one will be able to assist you during the last few hours of voting.
Oct. 11 | Election results will be announced to the membership.

NAPABA Accepting Endorsements 2016-17 NAPABA Board of Governors

NAPABA’s Nominating and Elections Committee (the “Committee”) is pleased to present for your consideration the following officer candidates for the 2016-17 bar year:

Candidate for President-Elect:
Pankit J. Doshi, Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP (San Francisco, CA)

Candidate for Vice-President for Finance and Development:
Steven Y. Reeves, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP (Minneapolis, MN)

Candidate for Vice-President for Membership:
Tacie H. Yoon, Crowell & Moring LLP (Washington, DC)

Candidates for Vice-President for Programs and Operations:
Thy B. Bui, LTL Attorneys LLP (Los Angeles, CA)
Daniel Sakaguchi, Armstrong Teasdale (St. Louis, MO)

Candidate for Vice-President for Communications:
Sun E. Choi, DC Metro Law, LLC (Washington, DC)

Candidate for Treasurer:
Eugene Kim, Gresham Savage Nolan & Tilden (San Bernardino, CA)

Candidate for Secretary:
Bonnie Lee Wolf, Nationwide Insurance (Columbus, OH)

The Committee has approved candidates who not only have demonstrated leadership capabilities, but more importantly, have also seriously considered their goals for NAPABA, the challenges and opportunities they see facing NAPABA in the coming year, and how they envision moving NAPABA forward. Each candidate has set forth his/her vision for NAPABA in a personal statement.


NAPABA believes that the active participation of members, affiliates, and national associates is essential to a vibrant and progressive organization and encourages the engagement of its members in the nomination and election process. To facilitate the involvement of members and related entities, NAPABA provides an endorsement process by which members can inform one another about candidate qualifications and support candidates through endorsements, advertisements, articles, and other means. Any eligible individual, affiliate, national associate, or other entity (except for the current members of the Committee and NAPABA staff) may endorse any candidate. Further, although no individual member of the Committee shall officially endorse any candidate, the Committee member may provide information regarding any candidate. Candidate materials, including candidate statements, may contain a list of endorsements.

Click here to view the candidate statements and biographies plus information on how to submit an endorsement! NAPABA will accept endorsements through Sept. 1, 2016 at 5 p.m. EDT.

NAPABA Officer Elections Underway

NAPABA Officer Elections Underway


On Thursday, August 8, AABANY held the third in its series of “Get to Know AABANY” Happy Hours for 2013, this time co-sponsored by the Judiciary, Young Lawyers and Membership Committees. Many members and friends gathered at O’Nieals on Grand Street, near Chinatown, to connect, re-connect and make new connections. The first thirty that came to O’Nieals got a free drink. Light appetizers were passed around for those in our party. 

Among those in attendance were Judiciary Committee Co-Chairs Theo Cheng and James Chou, and Young Lawyers Committee Co-Chair Liz Mo. Judy Kim, Chair of the Membership Committee attended. Also there was Michael Yim, candidate for NAPABA Vice President of Programs and Operations, handing out campaign stickers that had his name and Han Choi’s name on them. Han Choi is candidate for NAPABA President-elect. Both Han and Michael received AABANY’s endorsement in the NAPABA election.

Thanks to all who came and made it a successful happy hour!

AABANY Announces NAPABA Election and Endorsements.

Dear AABANY Members & Friends,

As you may know, AABANY is an affiliate of the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association (“NAPABA”).  All dues paying members of AABANY as of August 1, 2013 are NAPABA members and have the right to vote in the upcoming NAPABA election, except for student members who are not voting members of AABANY and thus not eligible to vote in the election. Note that AABANY Sponsor Members (those who joined through sponsorship of the Annual Dinner) are voting members of AABANY and thus eligible to vote in the election.

Certain NAPABA candidates in this year’s NAPABA election reached out to AABANY seeking its endorsement. These candidates were afforded the opportunity to address AABANY’s Board and answer various questions from our Board members.  After due deliberation and consideration by the Board of each of the candidate’s presentations, AABANY is pleased to announce its endorsement of, and recommendation that its members and friends vote for, the following candidates (click name to view candidate’s statement):

For President-Elect:  Han Choi 

For VP, Programs & Operations: Michael Yim 

For VP, Finance & Development: Alexander Lee 

For VP, Communications: Cyndie Chang

For VP, Membership: Brad Yamauchi

Further information about the NAPABA election may be found at

The Board recommends each eligible member of AABANY to vote in the upcoming NAPABA elections for the candidates that have been endorsed by AABANY.  All ballot submissions must be received by 11:59pm PT on Sunday, September 15, 2013.

If you believe that you were a dues paying member of AABANY as of August 1, 2013 but do not receive the NAPABA election ballot by email or mail from NAPABA (by August 15, 2013), please contact AABANY at [email protected].

Thank you.

Mike Huang, President