Bereavement Notice – Han C. Choi

With great sadness, AABANY announces the passing of Han C. Choi on March 26, 2018. Known by many around the country as a leader, mentor, trailblazer and friend, Han was active in NAPABA and was the Managing Partner of the Atlanta office of Ballard Spahr LLP.

AABANY, together with KALAGNY and CAPABA, held a fundraiser on March 22, the proceeds of which were donated to the Han C. Choi Scholarship Fund, administered by the NAPABA Law Foundation.

As announced on the Ballard Spahr website:

A memorial service for Mr. Choi will be held at 3 p.m. on Sunday, April 15, at First Presbyterian Church of Atlanta, 1328 Peachtree Street, Atlanta, Georgia. Han’s family has requested that memorial donations in his name be made to the NAPABA Law Foundation’s Han C. Choi Scholarship Fund,,  or the Decatur Education Foundation’s Han C. Choi Memorial Scholarship,

For more about Han and his life’s work, see the “Remembering Han C. Choi” page on the Ballard Spahr website:

Our thoughts and condolences go out to Han Choi’s family.

Support the Han C. Choi Scholarship Fund

AABANY is sad to receive the news that our friend Han Choi, a NAPABA trailblazer, mentor and leader, is battling cancer. In his honor, a scholarship fund has been created, to be administered by the NAPABA Law Foundation.

For more details on the fund and to lend your support, please click here.

AABANY Reminder to Vote in the NAPABA Election

REMINDER: The election closes on Sunday, September 15 at 11:59 pm PDT. All votes must be cast by then to be counted. If you have not received a ballot, please contact the NAPABA office at 202-775-9555 or by email to [email protected].

AABANY’s Board unanimously endorses Han Choi for President-Elect and Mike Yim for VP, Programs and Operations.  AABANY urges all its members to vote for Han Choi and Michael Yim.  Let’s make an impact on this year’s NAPABA election!

Click on the image to download the flyer


Let your voice be heard.

Cast your vote TODAY.


On Thursday, August 8, AABANY held the third in its series of “Get to Know AABANY” Happy Hours for 2013, this time co-sponsored by the Judiciary, Young Lawyers and Membership Committees. Many members and friends gathered at O’Nieals on Grand Street, near Chinatown, to connect, re-connect and make new connections. The first thirty that came to O’Nieals got a free drink. Light appetizers were passed around for those in our party. 

Among those in attendance were Judiciary Committee Co-Chairs Theo Cheng and James Chou, and Young Lawyers Committee Co-Chair Liz Mo. Judy Kim, Chair of the Membership Committee attended. Also there was Michael Yim, candidate for NAPABA Vice President of Programs and Operations, handing out campaign stickers that had his name and Han Choi’s name on them. Han Choi is candidate for NAPABA President-elect. Both Han and Michael received AABANY’s endorsement in the NAPABA election.

Thanks to all who came and made it a successful happy hour!

AABANY Announces NAPABA Election and Endorsements.

Dear AABANY Members & Friends,

As you may know, AABANY is an affiliate of the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association (“NAPABA”).  All dues paying members of AABANY as of August 1, 2013 are NAPABA members and have the right to vote in the upcoming NAPABA election, except for student members who are not voting members of AABANY and thus not eligible to vote in the election. Note that AABANY Sponsor Members (those who joined through sponsorship of the Annual Dinner) are voting members of AABANY and thus eligible to vote in the election.

Certain NAPABA candidates in this year’s NAPABA election reached out to AABANY seeking its endorsement. These candidates were afforded the opportunity to address AABANY’s Board and answer various questions from our Board members.  After due deliberation and consideration by the Board of each of the candidate’s presentations, AABANY is pleased to announce its endorsement of, and recommendation that its members and friends vote for, the following candidates (click name to view candidate’s statement):

For President-Elect:  Han Choi 

For VP, Programs & Operations: Michael Yim 

For VP, Finance & Development: Alexander Lee 

For VP, Communications: Cyndie Chang

For VP, Membership: Brad Yamauchi

Further information about the NAPABA election may be found at

The Board recommends each eligible member of AABANY to vote in the upcoming NAPABA elections for the candidates that have been endorsed by AABANY.  All ballot submissions must be received by 11:59pm PT on Sunday, September 15, 2013.

If you believe that you were a dues paying member of AABANY as of August 1, 2013 but do not receive the NAPABA election ballot by email or mail from NAPABA (by August 15, 2013), please contact AABANY at [email protected].

Thank you.

Mike Huang, President