New York City Bar 2017 Diversity and Inclusion Champion Awards

The New York City Bar Office for Diversity and Inclusion is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Diversity and Inclusion Champion Awards, which
will be presented at the Diversity and Inclusion Celebration Dinner on Tuesday, June 27, 2017.

The award recognizes the critical role individual attorneys have
played in initiating and sustaining change within their organizations
and the overall New York legal community. The award recipients embody
the New York City Bar’s Statement of Diversity
Principles, which defines diversity as an inclusive concept,
encompassing race, color, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, gender
identity and expression, religion, nationality, age, disability and
marital and parental status. 

The 2017 Diversity and Inclusion Champion Award recipients are: 

  • Ricardo A. Anzaldua
    Executive Vice President & General Counsel, MetLife
  • Zachary W. Carter
    Corporation Counsel, New York City Law Department
  • Carmelyn P. Malalis
    Chair and Commissioner, New York City Commission on Human Rights 
  • Richard E. Meade
    Vice President & Chief Legal Officer, International Law Compliance and Business Ethics, Prudential Financial, Inc. 

The Celebration Dinner is sold out. To request tickets or inquire about Sponsorship opportunities, please contact Gabrielle Brown at [email protected].

For more information about the award and the winners, please visit:

AABANY Law Review Announces Winners of the Scholarly Paper Prize and Student Note Competition

The AABANY Law Review is pleased to announce the winners of its inaugural Scholarly Paper Prize and Student Note Competition:

  • Greg Robinson (Professor of History at l’Université du Québec à Montréal) for his article, In Defense of Birthright Citizenship: The JACL, the NAACP, and Regan v. King. The Article tells the story of Regan v. King, in which West Coast nativists brought suit in federal court to disenfranchise American citizens of Japanese origin. The case reaffirmed the birthright citizenship of all Americans (first recognized by the Supreme Court in its 1898 decision Wong Kim Ark) and represents a pioneering instanceof multiracial coalition-building as the NAACP allied itself with the Japanese American Citizens League to fight for their constitutional rights. 
  • Daniel Bowman (Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law) for his note, Justifying Disparate Impact: Why a Discriminatory Effect Standard is Essential to the Fair Housing Act. Daniel’s note examines the historical development of the disparate impact standard under Title VII and the Fair Housing Act, and considers the upcoming Supreme Court case of Mount Holly v. Mt. Holly Gardens Citizens in Action, Inc., which will address the question of whether disparate impact claims are cognizable under the Fair Housing Act. 

In addition to a cash prize, both authors’ pieces will appear in the AABANY Law Review’s winter issue, and Prof. Robinson will be speaking about his paper at the NAPABA Northeast Regional/AABANY Fall Conference. Congratulations to both, and thanks to everyone who submitted! For more information about the AABANY Law Review, please visit or contact [email protected]