On June 19, 2013, the AABANY Prosecutors’ Committee celebrated its fifth year anniversary at NYCLA with over 130 people in attendance. US Attorney Preet Bharara (SDNY), District Attorneys Robert Johnson (Bronx), Daniel Donovan (Richmond), Kathleen Rice (Nassau), Cyrus Vance, Jr. (New York), and Special Narcotics Prosecutor Bridget Brennan (New York) were on hand to join in the festivities at which trailblazing judges the Hon. Lorna Schofield (SDNY) and the Hon. Pamela Chen (EDNY) were also honored. The Committee is comprised of current and former state and federal prosecutors. This highly successful event was co-sponsored with the Federal Courts Committee of NYCLA.

Prosecutors’ Committee’s 4th Anniversary Reception

Brian Lee, Deputy Chief of the County Court Bureau, Nassau County D.A.’s office, reports:

On June 28, 2012, the Prosecutors’ Committee held its 4th Anniversary Reception at the New York University School of Law, Vanderbilt Hall. This year, the Prosecutors’ Committee, co-chaired by Cristina S. W. Park of the Bronx County D.A.’s Office and James S. Lin of the New York County D.A.’s Office, honored Sandra Leung, General Counsel of Bristol-Myers Squibb, and Thomas M. Chan, Assistant Chief of the New York City Police Department. Ms. Leung was the first female Asian American prosecutor in the New York County D.A.’s Office, and in her speech, recounted how her invaluable experience as a prosecutor propelled her rapid rise in the ranks at Bristol-Myers Squibb. Assistant Chief Chan is the highest ranking Asian American officer in NYPD’s history, and during his address, spoke of his passion to help the community as the driving force behind his illustrious career. These two individuals were honored for their dedication to diversity and as trailblazers for the Asian American community in New York.

The honorees and attendees were welcomed by Jeannie Forrest, the Vice-Dean of NYU School of Law. Nearly 120 guests attended the reception and congratulatory remarks were given by: Charles J. Hynes, the District Attorney of Kings County; Daniel R. Alonso, the Chief ADA for New York County; Daniel L. Master, the Chief ADA for Richmond County; Jesse J. Sligh, an Executive ADA for Queens County; and Steven M. Goldstein, the Chief ADA for the Office of the Special Narcotics Prosecutor. Closing remarks were delivered by Jean Lee, the President of AABANY.

Dignitaries in attendance at the reception included Judge Doris Ling-Cohan, New York State Supreme Court, Judge Gilbert C. Hong, New York City Criminal Court, Daniel D. Chu, Chair of the Civilian Complaint Review Board, and Hugh H. Mo, one of last year’s Trailblazer Honorees. The reception was covered by members of the media.


On Wednesday, June 27, AABANY’s In-House Counsel and Corporate Law Committees held the 5th Annual Winetasting and Networking Reception at the Aicon Gallery in downtown Manhattan.  We had 120 attendees including in-house attorneys from 46 companies or organizations.  We were delighted that the following GCs were able to attend:

  • Vernon G. Chu, BBC Worldwide Americas, Inc.
  • Pearl Hou, Sen Yu International Holdings, Inc.
  • Charles Kwak, GE Capital Real Estate – Global Investment Management
  • Carol Lee, Taconic Capital Advisors LP
  • Parkin Lee, The Rockefeller Group
  • Bobby Liu, MD Sass Investors Services, Inc.
  • Don Liu, Xerox Corporation
  • Sonia Low, Chinese-American Planning Council, Inc.
  • Joseph Yi, Lam Group

We thank Gail Inaba,Managing Director and Associate General Counsel in the Legal Department of J.P. Morgan, for addressing the attendees at the event.  Gail is currently the Global Group Practice head for the securities financing and prime brokerage business in the Investment Bank.

Thanks to our sponsors for making this 5th Annual Winetasting and Networking Reception possible and thanks to everyone who attended.  Congratulations to the In-House Counsel Committee and Corporate Counsel Committee on a successful event.

To learn more about the In-House Counsel Committee, contact the co-chairs Duane Morikawa and Vincent Hull at inhouse-chairs@aabany.org  To learn more about the Corporate Law Committee, contact the co-chairs John Rogers and Stephen Kim at corporatelaw-chairs@aabany.org.