American Constitution Society – Writing Competitions and a Call for Papers

Call for Papers: Junior Scholars Public Law Workshop at AALS 2020

ACS is pleased to announce a call for papers for a workshop on public law to be held on Friday, January 3, 2020, in connection with the 2020 AALS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. Tenure-track and tenured faculty, or faculty with similar status, who have been full-time law teachers for 10 years or less are eligible to submit. Each of the 10 chosen authors will have the opportunity to discuss his/her paper in depth with another junior scholar and two experienced scholars from the ACS network, which includes Erwin Chemerinsky, Pamela Karlan, Bill Marshall, Reva Siegel, Mark Tushnet, and Adam Winkler, among others.

Deadline to Apply: 11:59 p.m. on October 18, 2019

Learn more about the Junior Scholars Public Law Workshop.

Richard D. Cudahy National Writing Competition On Regulatory and Administrative Law

This annual national writing competition honors the late Judge Cudahy’s contributions to the field of administrative law. The competition is open to all lawyers and law students and awards a prize in each category of $1,500.

Deadline to Apply: February 2, 2020, 11:59 PM 

Learn about submission criteria and eligibility for the Cudahy writing competition. 

Constance Baker Motley National Student Writing Competition On a Progressive Vision of the Constitution

This annual national student writing competition honoring Constance Baker Motley, a civil rights leader, elected official, and the first African American woman appointed to the federal bench.  The competition is open to all law students who are dues-paying ACS members and awards a $3,000 winning prize and two $1,000 runner-up prizes.

Deadline to Apply: February 9, 2020 

Learn about submission criteria and eligibility for the Constance Baker Motley writing competition.

Richard D. Cudahy Writing Competition on Regulatory and Administrative Law

The twelfth annual Richard D. Cudahy Writing Competition on Regulatory and Administrative Law honors the late Judge Cudahy’s contributions to the fields of regulatory and administrative law. Submissions should be related to American regulatory and administrative law, broadly construed.

The winning lawyer and law student author will receive a cash prize of $1,500. The winning papers will also receive special recognition at the 2019 ACS National Convention and on the ACS website. Coauthored submissions are eligible and if selected, the coauthors will share the prize.

2019 Judging Panel: Jack M. Beermann, Hon. David Hamilton, Jeffrey P. Kehne, Hon. Paul Oetken, Amy Widman, and Allison M. Zieve

The competition is open to lawyers and law students. Deadline Feb. 3.

To learn more, click here.