On February 15, 2017, AABANY held its Annual Meeting at Arnold Porter & Kaye Scholer LLP, hosted by President Susan Shin who presided over the election of officers and directors. After she called the meeting to order and established quorum, she welcomed Treasurer Amy Ngai and Membership Director Tristan Loanzon to give their reports. 

President Susan Shin and Executive Director Yang Chen presented the Year-End Report, which can be found here. By-laws changes were approved for the next year. Immediate Past President Will Wang and President-Elect Dwight Yoo tallied the votes.

As announced by Membership Director Tristan Loanzon, the winner of the Membership Challenge to sign up or renew members was the Litigation Committee.

The Committee of the Year was shared by the Government Service & Public Interest Committee and the Pro Bono & Community Service Committee, who have collaborated on several important projects this year, including the monthly pro bono walk-in clinic.

The title of AABANY MVP was awarded to Chris Kwok, for his tireless work as Issues Committee Co-Chair informing the Board on politically charged topics in a measured way during a politically tumultuous year.

We congratulate the following officers who were elected and begin their term on April 1, 2017:

  • President-Elect: James Cho
  • Vice President of Programs and Operations: Naf Kwun
  • Vice President of Programs and Operations: Jeff Ikejiri
  • Treasurer: Amy Ngai
  • Secretary: Dai Wai Chin Feman
  • Membership Director: Tristan Loanzon

The following people were elected as Directors to serve two-year terms starting on April 1, 2017:

  • Marianne Chow
  • Diane Gujarati
  • Bobby Liu
  • Sonia Low
  • Terrence Shen
  • Brian Song
  • Larry Wee

To read candidate statements and biographies, click here. For more photos of the event, click here.