AABANY to Honor Asian Americans at Prosecutors Committee’s 7th Anniversary Celebration 

DATE: June 30, 2014
TIME: 5:30pm – 9:00pm

LOCATION:    Brooklyn Law School – Feil Hall, Forchelli Center
205 State Street-22nd floor, Brooklyn

AABANY’s Prosecutors Committee will seek to honor:

  • Joon H. Kim, Chief of Criminal Division, United States Attorney’s Office – Southern District of New York
  • The family of the fallen hero police officer, Detective Wenjian Liu

Mr. Kim and the Liu family will be honored for their courage, exemplary public service, and dedication to diversity, and as trailblazers for the Asian American community in New York. The event is the seventh anniversary celebration of the AABANY Prosecutors Committee. Many groups and people have been invited to the reception:

  • U.S. Attorney Preet Bharara
  • Brooklyn DA Ken Thompson
  • Manhattan DA Cy Vance
  • Bronx DA Robert Johnson
  • Queens DA Richard Brown
  • Acting DA Dan Masters
  • Nassau County DA Madeline Singas
  • Special Narcotics Prosecutor Bridget Brennan
  • NYPD Asian Jade Society and DESI society
  • Various Federal/state judges and media/news agencies

Over 150 guests are expected to attend the event (most of them Asian prosecutors and attorneys. In the past, all sitting District Attorneys have been asked to address the gathering attendees.  Included among them were Cyrus Vance Jr., the District Attorney of New York County; Charles Hynes, the former District Attorney of Kings County; Robert T. Johnson, the District Attorney of Bronx County; Richard A. Brown, the District Attorney of Queens County; Daniel M. Donovan, the District Attorney of Richmond County; Kathleen M. Rice, the former District Attorney of Nassau County; Bridget G. Brennan, the Special Narcotics Prosecutor for the City of New York; and Preet Bharara, U.S. Attorney-SDNY. We anticipate most of the D.A.’s listed above to be in attendance.

Other attendees in the past have included Judge Denny Chin (Federal Appeals Court, 2nd Circuit), Justice Peter Tom (Appellate Division, First Department); Randall Eng (Appellate Division, Second Department); Justice Jeffrey Oing (New York State Supreme Court, Civil Term); Justice Doris Ling-Cohan (New York Appellate Term); Justice Danny Chun (Kings County Supreme Court, Criminal Term); and Justices Alex Jeong, Gil Hong, Kevin McGrath (New York City Criminal Court) and many others.

In the past, the honorees have included, among others, Robert Morgenthau, the then District Attorney of New York County (2009), Preet Bharara, the U.S. Attorney for the S.D.N.Y. (2010), Justice Randall Eng, Presiding Justice, Appellate Division, Second Department (2011), Sandra Leung, General Counsel, Bristol-Myers Squibb (2012), Honorable Judge Pamela Chen, E.D.N.Y., and Honorable Judge Lorna Schofield, S.D.N.Y (2013), and Wen-Ting Chen, Chief Counsel of ICE (2014).

The AABANY Prosecutors’ Committee was formed from ADAs from the five District Attorneys’ Offices of New York City with the assistance of AABANY and celebrated its inception on June 5, 2008 in King County.  The goals of the Prosecutors’ Committee include the advancement and professional development of Asian Pacific American prosecutors, the establishment of a network between former and current Asian Pacific American prosecutors, the recruitment of Asian Pacific American law students to become prosecutors, and the cultivation of trust and communication between the Asian Pacific American community and the local prosecutors’ offices.  Currently, over one hundred Asian Pacific Americans serve as prosecutors in the Metro area.

To register, click here.