During the weekend of August 19 through 21, KALAGNY organized a terrific NAPABA Northeast Regional Conference in New York City. 

The conference kicked off on Friday evening, August 19, with a welcome reception at the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Korea, featuring an address from D. Stephen Mathias, Assistant Secretary-General for Legal Affairs of the United Nations.

The conference programs took place on Saturday, August 20, at New York Law School. Among the panelists and moderators in the diverse array of programming were the following AABANY leaders, members and friends:

  • An-Ping Hsieh, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Hubbell Inc., recipient of AABANY’s Corporate Counsel Leadership Award in 2015
  • Jung Choi, Senior Counsel, Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., AABANY Board member
  • Clara Ohr, Legal Counsel and Compliance Officer, LUKOIL Pan Americas, LLC, past AABANY President
  • James Cho, Assistant US Attorney, EDNY, AABANY Board member and co-chair of AABANY’s Government Service and Public Interest Committee
  • Hon. Doris Ling-Cohan, Appellate Term, 1st Dept., New York Supreme Court, founding AABANY Board member
  • Margaret Ling, attorney-at-law, Co-Chair of AABANY’s Real Estate Committee and Asia Practice Committee
  • Lisa Lim, Partner, Akerman LLP, AABANY member
  • Robert Moy, Partner, Forchelli, Curto, Deegan, Schwartz, Mineo & Terrana LLP, AABANY member
  • Steve Madra, the Madra Law Firm, AABANY member
  • Suhna Pierce, Associate, Morrison & Foerster, AABANY member
  • Hon. Peggy Kuo, US Magistrate Judge, EDNY, AABANY member
  • William Wang, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the New York State Attorney General, Immediate Past President of AABANY
  • Susan L. Shin, Partner, Arnold & Porter LLP, AABANY President
  • Christopher M. Kwok, Supervisory ADR Coordinator, EEOC, Issues Committee Co-Chair
  • Jin P. Lee, the Law Office of Jin P. Lee, AABANY member
  • Sandra Leung, AALDEF Board member, AABANY Advisory Committee member
  • Vinoo Varghese, Varghese & Associates, P.C., former AABANY Board member
  • Osamu Watanabe, General Counsel, Moelis & Co., AABANY member
  • Kenneth Chin, Partner, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP, AABANY member
  • Sahang-Hee Hahn, Assistant Vice President and Counsel, Mass Mutual, co-chair AABANY’s Tax Committee
  • Dwight Yoo, Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flo LLP, AABANY President-Elect
  • Jimmy Yan, Special Counsel to the Chief Investment Officer & Deputy Comptroller for Asset Management, Office of the New York City Comptroller, AABANY member
  • Rachel Jiyoung Yoo, Law Office of Rachel J. Yoo, AABANY member
  • Elaine M. Calderon, Managing Attorney, The Calderon Law Practice PLLC, AABANY member
  • Jane Chuang, Partner, Lee Anav Chung White Kim Ruger & Richter, past AABANY Treasurer
  • PC Cheng, Law Offices of Cheng & Associates, past AABANY President

Hon. Randall T. Eng, Presiding Justice, Appellate Division, Second Department, presented an inspiring keynote speech during the plenary luncheon session.

After a full day of engaging and informative CLE programs, the attendees enjoyed a cocktail reception on the Rooftop Lounge at New York Law School. An optional dinner was also available in Chinatown at Hop Lee, followed by late night karaoke at Karaoke City in K-town.

For those who still had the energy on Sunday, a social mixer was held starting at noon at the Biergarten in the Standard Hotel.

Also in attendance at the Northeast Regional were the following NAPABA Officers, Directors and Staff:

  • Jin Y. Hwang, President
  • Alexander M. Lee, VP for Finance & Development
  • Tacie H. Yoon, VP for Membership
  • Sun E. Choi, VP for Communications
  • Steve Y. Reeves, Treasurer
  • George C. Chen, Immediate Past President
  • Charles H. Jung, NAPABA At-Large Member
  • Daniel Sakaguchi, NAPABA At-Large Member
  • Tina Matsuoka, NAPABA Executive Director
  • Navdeep Singh, NAPABA Policy Director
  • Pang Moua, NAPABA Meeting Coordinator

Congratulations to KALAGNY President Bridgette Ahn and all the members of the planning committee, Eve Guillergan, Judy Kim, Karen Kim, James Lee, EJ Thorsen and Rose Yan, for putting together an enjoyable, engaging and informative Northeast Regional conference! We look forward to next year’s Northeast Regional in Philadelphia and the following year’s in Connecticut.